WHA’s Board of Directors

Officers & Executive Committee

Chairman of the Board

Marlene Gafrick
Director of Planning

Vice Chairman of the Board

David Hightower
Executive Vice President
Midway Companies


Alia Vinson


Lee Lennard
President and CEO

At-Large Member

Zach Hodges
NW Campus President
Houston Community College

At-Large Member

Mark Kilkenny
Vice President of Development

At-Large Member

Jack P. Miller
Chief Executive Officer
R.G. Miller Engineers|DCCM

At-Large Member

Jim Russ
Senior Principal
EHRA Engineering


Board of Directors

Rob Bamford
General Manager – Cross Creek Ranch
Johnson Development Corp.

Todd Burrer
Vice President – Texas MUDs

Tim Buscha
President & CEO
IDS Engineering

Lisa Clark
Sr. Vice President
W Land Development

Melanie Folkert
Partner/Director of Acquisitions
Rooted Development

Steve Sams
Senior VP – MPC Residential
Howard Hughes Corporation

DeKecha Shepherd
Chief Operating Officer
Costello, Inc.


Matt Stoops
Planning Director
LJA Engineering

Advisory Board

Andrea French, Scenic Houston
Deborah January-Beavers, Houston Wilderness
Richard Johnson, Rice University
Mary Anne Piacentini, Coastal Prairie Conservancy
Dietrich von Biedenfeld, University of Houston – Downtown
Tim Early, Texas A&M University

Emeritus Directors

Joe B. Allen, Allen, Boone, Humphries, Robinson LLP
Jim Boone, Allen, Boone, Humphries, Robinson LLP
Fred Caldwell, Caldwell Companies
Bradley Freels, Midway Companies
Ned Holmes, Ned S. Holmes Investments, Inc
Peter Houghton, Rooted Development*
Jim Jard, MetroNational*
Bob Jones, Jones Engineering Solutions
Jack Linville, PGAL
Walt Mischer, Jr.Mischer Investments
David Ramsey, NewQuest Properties
David Wolff, Wolff Companies*

* Past Board Chair

Past Chairman of the Board of Directors

2022 – Current   Marlene Gafrick, MetroNational
2019 – 2021   Heath Melton, Howard Hughes Corporation
2016 – 2018   John S. Moody Sr., Parkside Capital
2013 – 2015   Peter Houghton, Howard Hughes Corporation
2012   Joel Marshal, Marshall Investments LLC
2009 – 2011   David Hightower, Wolff Companies
2006 – 2008   Mark Kilkenny, Mischer Investments
2003 – 2005   Ted Nelson, Newland Communities
2001 – 2002   Lynn Grafing, Conoco Phillips
1997 – 2000   C. Harold Wallace, Consultant
1993 – 1996   Jim Jard, MetroNational
1989 – 1992   Guy Harrel, Savoy Group
1986 – 1989   Billy Burge, Ayrshire Corporation
1979 – 1985   David Wolff, Wolff Companies   (Founding Director)