WHA’s Rising Leaders

The WHA Rising Leaders Program will create and grow a network of leaders and mentors within the West Houston Association who will be able to share information, enhance understanding, and  collaborate on issues of interest to the association in order to make positive changes across the Greater West Houston region and beyond.

Program Overview
The WHA Rising Leaders Program is designed for those who plan to be active with the West Houston Association for sizable part of their career. The program provides an accelerated introduction to the topics and issues of interest to the association and its members as well as an opportunity for networking among others who aspire to be leaders (i.e. serve as committee chair, vice-chairs, or take on major projects) within WHA in the coming years. The program involves seven sessions which focus on topics in alignment with WHA Committees and the 2060 Plan. At these sessions participants engage with experts, industry leaders, and creative thinkers who are able to highlight opportunities to improve quality of life across the Greater West Houston Region.  The program is guided by past participants who provide insights to continuously improve the experience.

The program has four main goals: Introduce WHA’s Rising Leaders to established leaders in WHA and the broader community to work to further facilitate quality growth in the Greater West Houston region and beyond. Cultivate Rising Leaders’ participation in WHA’s committees, events, and initiatives. Provide the perspective of WHA Rising Leaders to WHA, its Board of Directors, and the public. Facilitate ongoing learning and leadership opportunities for Rising Leaders in the West Houston Association and other key organizations

Rising Leaders – Class 8


2023 Rising Leaders Schedule

4/28 – RL: Welcome, Demographics, Education, & Workforce
5/19 – Parks, Recreation, & Open Spaces
5/25 – WHA’s 3rd Annual Rising Leaders Topgolf Tournament: Topgolf Maverick
6/30 – Water, Wastewater, & Flooding
7/28 – Sustainability
8/25 – Regional Mobility
9/29 – Quality Planned Development
10/27 – Development Policy & Governance

Previous Rising Leaders

Class 7
Andres Aranzales
Aaron Carpenter
Christine Crotwell
JT Gaden
Emily Heineman
Andrew Lang
Mackenzie Osborne
James Parker
Caleb Stone

Class 6
Lilian Baldwin
Sanjay Bapat
Brian Gates *
Diana Miller
Kent Milson
Karina Moreno
Monica Navarro
Taylor Reed ^

Class 5
Adam Morris
Brad MacDougall
Harry Thompson *
Jason Robinett
Jennifer Hundl
Jesse Carrasco
Jordan Williams
Katie May


Class 4
Rima Adil
Sean Burch
David Colunga
Lizanne Douglas
Noe Escobar ^
Tina Peterman
Steve Sams
Lona Shipp ^
Linh Tran

Class 3
Tricia Brasseaux *^
Christina Cole *
Justin Wagner
Paul Lock *
Jarrod Payne
Adam Rinehart

Class 2
Todd Hamilton
Greg Lentz
Andy Palermo *
Jon D. Polley
DeKécha Shepherd+

Class 1
Auggie Campbell
Colleen Castroman
Randy Corson ~
Destry Dokes
Mark Gehringer – ~
Ryan Harper
Carol Harrison
Nate Jackson
Martye Kendrick
Dustin O’Neal
Brett Walker


* Current Committee Chair or Vice Chair
+ Current Board Member
^ Compass Award Winner
– Past Committee Chair or Vice Chair
~ Past Board Member